Henry County SPLOST V cover slide

To view information about the existing SPLOST program, click here.
To view the most recent update on completed SPLOST IV projects, click here.

SPLOST History

SPLOST stands for special purpose local option sales tax and is used by all 159 Georgia counties to fund local capital projects. Henry County voters first approved SPLOST in September 1996. Since then, three subsequent programs have been approved resulting in over five-hundred million dollars invested into county facilities and roads.

A few highlights from previous SPLOST projects have included installing over fifty intersection improvements and paving numerous dirt roads, building six new fire stations and purchasing dozens of police cars, expanding major county buildings like the courthouse and jail, and additions to practically every Henry County park. The benefit of SPLOST is that everyone pays into it, not just residents of the community. Every time an interstate traveler grabs a meal while passing through or tourists visit for a ball tournament, the SPLOST program and Henry County community are benefitting.

SPLOST Renewal

The time has come for Henry County to consider the renewal of SPLOST. The current program will end collections in March 2020 and the Henry County commission has formed a citizens’ committee to lead the process. The SPLOST V committee is charged to solicit public input on proposed projects, develop cost estimates and a fiscally-constrained list of projects, and deliver the proposal to the Board of Commissioners by next summer. The committee includes one appointment from each commissioner and commission chair, one from the county manager, and one from the Henry County cities.

Once the final project list is delivered to the commissioners, voters will consider the projects included and decide whether to renew SPLOST through a countywide referendum in November 2019.

SPLOST V Updates

Moving Henry Forward will be covering the SPLOST V committee and encouraging public participation throughout the process.

MHF editor Clayton Carte is the committee chair. Clayton would like to stress the importance of input by county residents so that committee members may select the most effective program of projects possible. Please reach out to MovingHenryForward [at] gmail [dot] com with any suggestions on park expansion or transportation improvements.

Committee Members

The committee is comprised of seven members, with an eighth vote for the Henry County Municipalities.

The committee members are listed below, followed by their appointing official. Any committee member is a great resource to discuss proposed projects and provide feedback.

  • Chair Clayton Carte – county chair
  • Vice-Chair Carlotta Harrell – district V
  • Claud Spinks – county manager
  • Tom Israel – district I
  • Arnold Cole – district II
  • Mike Elrod – district III
  • Harold Jenkins – district IV

Committee Meetings

The committee will hold two meetings in each commission district, one meeting in each city, and three meetings at the county administration building, for a total of seventeen. Dates and times are subject to change. Locations will be added as confirmed.

All committee meetings are open to the public. An opportunity for public comment will be provided at every meeting.

Date Time Location District
July 23, 2018 6:00 PM Henry County Administration Building Countywide
August 9, 2018 6:30 PM Locust Grove Senior Center District I
August 23, 2018 6:30 PM Nash Farm Park District II
September 6, 2018 6:30 PM Ola Elementary District III
September 20, 2018 6:30 PM JP Moseley Rec Center District IV
October 4, 2018 6:30 PM Fairview Rec Center District V
October 18, 2018 6:30 PM Locust Grove Public Safety Building District I
November 1, 2018 6:30 PM Bear Creek Senior Center District II
November 15, 2018 6:30 PM McDonough City Hall District I / III
November 29, 2018 6:30 PM Merle Manders Conference Center District IV / V
December 13, 2018 6:30 PM Henry County Administration Building Countywide
January 10, 2019 6:30 PM New Hope Elementary District I
January 24, 2019 6:30 PM Luella Middle School District II
February 7, 2019 6:30 PM Heritage Senior Center District III
February 28, 2019 6:30 PM Timber Ridge Elementary District IV
March 7, 2019 6:30 PM Cotton Indian Elementary District V
March 21, 2019 6:30 PM Henry County Administration Building Countywide

Fiscal Estimates and County / Cities Split

The current SPLOST was estimated at $190 million in collections. An updated fiscal estimate looking at current sales tax collections and recent economic growth has been provided to the SPLOST V committee.

SPLOST V is estimated to collect $220 million over the six year collection period. It is estimated that the county will receive $165 million, or 75%, of the proceeds. The remaining 25% will be divided among the cities based on population.


Visit the Projects page to see projects under consideration. Projects are broken up into countywide projects, and then by each commission district.

Projects selected by the cities are outside the scope of the SPLOST V committee. Moving Henry Forward will be covering the city projects as best as possible, but information is not guaranteed.


Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: