School Board elections scheduled in May

Henry County Schools logo in purple on white background

Elections for the Henry County Board of Education take place alongside the May 19 primary. This is because school board positions are non-partisan.

All voters that participate in the May 19 primary, regardless of which party ticket they select, will see the non-partisan election on their ballot. Voters also have the option to select a non-partisan ticket if they do not want to participate in either party primary but would still like to vote for school board.

School board districts share boundaries with the county commission districts. Districts one, two, and three are on this year’s ballot.

The three incumbents have qualified alongside at least one challenger in each district. If no candidate receives a majority in an election, the top two vote getters would advance to a late summer runoff.

School Board District I

  • John H. Dewberry Jr.
  • Pam Nutt*

School Board District II

  • Josh Hinton*
  • Makenzie McDaniel
  • Sharon McMeans-Lukiri
  • Gewel Richardson

School Board District III

  • Holly Carter Cobb*
  • Deborah Sykes

An asterisk denotes the incumbent. Candidates are listed in alphabetical order by last name.

About Clayton 877 Articles
Clayton Carte is the founder and owner of Moving Henry Forward Community News. The website provides local news coverage in Henry County, Georgia.