McDonough to decide proposed extended stay hotel next week

Photo of Extended Stay America front elevation (TGC Group photo)

The McDonough city council will revisit a proposed extended stay hotel at their meeting next week after splitting 3-3 on the request in November. The hotel is proposed on Avalon Court in the I-75 exit 218 area.

In November, council woman Kam Varner made a motion to deny the request seconded by Sandra Vincent. Council members voting in favor of the motion to deny the application were Varner, Vincent, and Roger Pruitt. Mayor Copeland, council members Elrod and Stewart voted against the motion. Council member Ben Pruett was absent from the meeting.

The council meeting will be held on Tuesday, January 21, at 6 pm. Meetings are held at McDonough city hall on Keys Ferry Street. This is a change from the typical Monday meeting because of the MLK Holiday.

The proposed development, submitted by TGC Group of Wichita, KS, would be an Extended Stay America brand if approved. The Henry County Board of Commissioners denied a similar request for property off Jonesboro Road last summer.

Residents with comments, questions or concerns about the project are encouraged to contact the city council before the meeting. A public hearing about the request has already been held and an opportunity to speak about the request during the meeting may not be provided. Contact information for council members has been included below.

PositionElected OfficialE-mail Address
MayorBilly Copelandbcopeland@mcdonoughga.org
At-largeBenjamin Pruettbpruett@mcdonoughga.org
At-largeRoger Pruittrpruitt@mcdonoughga.org
District 1Rufus Stewartrstewart@mcdonoughga.org
District 2Sandra Vincentsvincent@mcdonoughga.org
District 3Craig Elrodcelrod@mcdonough-ga.gov
District 4Kam Varnerkvarner@mcdonoughga.org

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: