HCS opens school choice application for 2020-2021

Henry County Schools logo in purple on white background

Henry County Schools has opened the school choice application for the 2020 – 2021 school year. Applications will be accepted starting on January 13 through February 28.

School choice allows parents to apply for their child(ren) to attend a different school than their native attendance zone, provided there’s sufficient capacity to accept new students at the school of choice. The application is available on the school system website.

A school’s inclusion on the list implies the availability of classroom space. Schools left off the list are not necessarily overcapacity but may be at or near their capacity.

As a whole, the district has approximately thirty trailers. The use of trailers is not uncommon in a growing school district and, compared to a peak of eight-hundred trailers in the early 2000’s, the district is in a good position.

A classroom utilization study is underway now that will be finished later this year. The results will guide the project list for education SPLOST VI, to be voted on by the county’s registered voters in 2021. District enrollment surpassed 43,000 during the fall semester.

Parents may apply for school choice at the following schools:

Elementary Schools (18 of 28)
  • Austin Road
  • Bethlehem
  • Cotton Indian
  • East Lake
  • Flippen
  • Fairview
  • Hampton
  • Luella
  • New Hope
  • Pate’s Creek
  • Pleasant Grove
  • Rocky Creek
  • Red Oak
  • Stockbridge (K – 3rd)
  • Smith Barnes (4th – 5th)
  • Timber Ridge
  • Walnut Creek
  • Woodland
Middle Schools (4 of 11)
  • Austin Road
  • Hampton
  • Stockbridge
  • Woodland
High Schools (6 of 10)
  • Hampton
  • Locust Grove
  • Luella
  • McDonough
  • Stockbridge
  • Woodland
About Clayton 939 Articles
Clayton Carte is the founder and owner of Moving Henry Forward Community News. Since 2017, he has written over 900 articles sharing local updates with the community. Now, in 2022, he is running for Georgia State House District 117 to advocate for Henry County at the State Capitol.