Henry County approves 2020 LMIG application

Commissioners approved their application in December to receive 2020 local maintenance improvement grant (LMIG) funds from Georgia DOT. A majority of LMIG funding is allocated towards road resurfacing each year.

In 2020, unincorporated Henry County is slated to receive $2,369,078.33. The program requires a thirty percent local match which equates to $710,723.50. The local match is funded through Henry County DOT’s asphalt budget.

Henry County divides its LMIG funding into five shares for use by each district commissioner. Projects are selected by the commissioner in consultation with county staff. In 2020, each district’s share equals $615,960.37.

Commissioners Wilson and Barham continue a theme of resurfacing major secondary roads in their districts. To follow up New Hope Road and Wilson Drive completed in 2019, the commissioners included South Ola Road between Peeksville and Old Jackson (district 1), Elliott Road between state route 20 and the new bridge over Walnut Creek (district 3), and Lake Dow Road between SR 81 and the roundabout (district 3) in the 2020 projects. These projects also include minor widening to address deficiencies with the existing land width.

Jonesboro at Mitchell is pictured here with a new traffic signal in a 2008 widening concept. (Georgia DOT photo)

No roads will be resurfaced in commission district 2. Instead, $316,000 will be budgeted for sidewalks and $300,000 budgeted to design intersection improvements at Jonesboro Road and Mitchell Road. The intersection improvements will be designed to align with Georgia DOT’s long-range project to widen Jonesboro Road.

In district 4, Commissioner Thomas has selected a combination of resurfacing, patching, and sidewalk repair. A portion of Brook Hollow Drive, located in the Brook Hollow subdivision off Kelleytown Road, will be resurfaced while the remaining half-mile will be patched. Other streets in the subdivision will be either resurfaced or patched based on need. River Pointe subdivision will also be resurfaced.

Continuing in district 4, sidewalks in the Eagle Ridge subdivision will be repaired. Eagle Ridge is located off Banks Road and Flippen. In district 5, Speer Road between Walt Stephens Road and Southcrest Drive (1000’ S of SR 138) will see minor widening and resurfacing. Saint Marks Drive in the Chapel Hill subdivision off Church Road will also be resurfaced.

Cities in Henry County receive additional LMIG funding for use on their projects. Visit our articles category ‘Roadway Maintenance & Safety‘ to check out similar content.

About Clayton 939 Articles
Clayton Carte is the founder and owner of Moving Henry Forward Community News. Since 2017, he has written over 900 articles sharing local updates with the community. Now, in 2022, he is running for Georgia State House District 117 to advocate for Henry County at the State Capitol.