No change in McDonough council

Photo of Georgia "I voted" stickers on a table

McDonough voters decided this week that they appear satisfied with their current council members. The three incumbents held their seats in this year’s city council election.

McDonough is unique as the only city in Henry County that utilizes council districts. All city residents were eligible to participate in the at-large election, but parts of the city also saw an election for districts three or four.

At-large council member Benjamin Pruett received 642 votes, or 45.28%, to win another four-year term. Challengers Carla Dennis received 411 votes and Brandon Robinson received 360 votes.

District three councilman Craig Elrod received 520 votes, or 66.16%, to retain his seat. His opponent, Janice Scotchman, received 266 votes, or 33.84%.

Mayor pro temp and district four councilwoman Kam Varner also kept her seat, with 212 votes (74.91%). Her challenger, Teresa Bradley Wheeler, received 71 votes (25.09%).

In other ballot items, city residents approved Sunday brunch alcohol sales 61.62% yes to 38.38% no. In a non-binding polling question, conducted to gather public opinion, 60.83% of city voters voiced opposition to relocating the county’s judicial services and courthouse out of the town square.

All election results are unofficial tallies.

About Clayton 939 Articles
Clayton Carte is the founder and owner of Moving Henry Forward Community News. Since 2017, he has written over 900 articles sharing local updates with the community. Now, in 2022, he is running for Georgia State House District 117 to advocate for Henry County at the State Capitol.