Brian Strickland and June Wood appointed to Georgia Complete Count Committee

State Senator Brian Strickland Instagram post (social media photo)

Henry County will be well represented on the Georgia Complete Count Committee announced earlier this week. State Senator Brian Strickland and County Chair June Wood have been named to the sixty six member group.

The Georgia Complete Count Committee is charged to ensure every resident of the state is counted during the 2020 United States Census. The committee will be chaired by Rusty Haygood of the Department of Community Affairs and Anna Miller of the Governor’s Office of Planning and Budget.

In an Instagram post this morning, Senator Strickland shared “when it comes to the census, it is especially important that every citizen, no matter their socio-economic background, is counted.” The census count plays a pivotal role in the distribution of state and federal funds back to local communities during the next decade.

Henry County and the four cities have a joint complete count committee working at the grassroots level in addition to efforts by the state of Georgia. The 2020 US Census will be conducted on Wednesday, April 1, 2020.

The Governor’s Press Release establishing the Georgia Complete Count Committee is available here.